You have no items in your shopping cart.


Product was successfully added to your shopping cart.
  • Duke Ellington And His Orchestra: The Ellington Suites (CD) Duke Ellington And His Orchestra: The Ellington Suites (CD)

Duke Ellington And His Orchestra: The Ellington Suites (CD)

Item #: 528259

Quick Overview

In his later years, Duke Ellington wrote and recorded a large number of suites. Many of them would not be heard until after his death, as material from what he called the "stockpile" was discovered and released. Among the most beautiful of the suites was "The Queen's Suite," written in honor of Queen Elizabeth in the late 1950s but not issued until 1976. It includes Ellington's lovely piano solo, "Single Petal of a Rose." With "The Queen's Suite" in this collection are the majestic "Goutelas Suite" and "The Uwis Suite," which contains Ellington's only known recording of a polka. As an added bonus, this Original Jazz Classics Remasters edition also presents, for the very first time, the only known Ellington recording of his composition "The Kiss" - recorded at the same session as "The Uwis Suite." Major Ellington soloists like Johnny Hodges and Paul Gonsalves are on hand, but the center of attraction is the composition and orchestration by the maestro and Billy Strayhorn.
Subscriber Price: $13.49


Format: Audio CD, Original recording remastered
Release Date: September 17, 2013
Number of Discs: 1
Label: Original Jazz Classics

Track Listing
1 The Queen's Suite: Sunset And The Mocking Bird
2 The Queen's Suite: Lightning Bugs And Frogs
3 The Queen's Suite: Le Sucrier Velours
4 The Queen's Suite: Northern Lights
5 The Queen's Suite: The Single Petal Of A Rose
6 The Queen's Suite: Apes And Peacocks
7 The Goutelas Suite: Fanfare
8 The Goutelas Suite: Goutelas
9 The Goutelas Suite: Get-With-Itness
10 The Goutelas Suite: Something
11 The Goutelas Suite: Having At It
12 The Goutelas Suite: Fanfare
13 The Uwis Suite: Uwis
14 The Uwis Suite: Klop
15 The Uwis Suite: Loco Madi
16 The Kiss