Your support matters during this time, Thank You!
FREE shipping on orders over $75!
Beatrice Rana - Bach: Goldberg Variations (CD)

Beatrice Rana - Bach: Goldberg Variations (CD)

Adding The Blue: Paintings by Chrissie Hynde (Book)

Adding The Blue: Paintings by Chrissie Hynde (Book)

Meredith Monk: On Behalf of Nature (CD)

For five decades, vocalist-composer Meredith Monk has explored what she calls primordial utterance, or non-verbal vocal sounds that lay beneath and beyond language, expressing that for which we have no words. This exploration has led her to create music that The New Yorker describes as "simultaneously visceral and ethereal, raw and rapt, an art that sings, dances and meditates on timeless forces."

With her latest, multivalent ECM New Series album, Monk aimed to address ecology and climate change, she says: "Believing that music speaks more directly than words, I worked to make a piece with a fluid, perceptual field that could expand awareness of what we are in danger of losing. On Behalf of Nature is a meditation on our intimate connection to nature, its inner structures, the fragility of its ecology and our interdependence."
$20.99 Subscriber Price: $18.89
Performer: Sidney Chen, Ellen Fisher, Katie Geissinger, Bruce Rameker, Allison Sniffin, et al.
Composer: Meredith Monk

Format: Audio CD
Release Date: November 4, 2016
Number of Discs: 1
Label: ECM

Track Listing
1 Dark / Light 1
2 High Realm
3 Fractal Activity
4 Environs 1
5 Eon
6 Duet with Shifting Ground
7 Environs 2
8 Pavement Steps
9 Evolution
10 Ritual Zone
11 Water / Sky Rant
12 Memory Zone
13 Environs 3
14 Harvest
15 Dark / Light 2
16 High Realm Reprise
17 Fractal Mirror
18 Ringing
19 Spider Web Anthem
Write Your Own Review
Only registered users can write reviews. Please Sign in or create an account