You have no items in your shopping cart.


Product was successfully added to your shopping cart.
  • Cecilia Bartoli / Sol Gabetta: Dolce Duello (LP) Cecilia Bartoli / Sol Gabetta: Dolce Duello (LP)
  • Cecilia Bartoli / Sol Gabetta: Dolce Duello (LP) Cecilia Bartoli / Sol Gabetta: Dolce Duello (LP)

Mendelssohn Symphony No. 3 (LP)


Robert Mitchum: Calypso Is Like So... (LP)

Cecilia Bartoli / Sol Gabetta: Dolce Duello (LP)

Item #: 525945

Quick Overview

Cecilia Bartoli and Sol Gabetta – two of the most captivating women in classical music – join together for ‘Dolce Duello.’ It is a collection of Baroque masterpieces which showcase the stunning combination of voice and cello in a series of dazzling duels and wondrous arias.

‘Dolce Duello’ covers almost a century of music. The album features works by Antonio Vivaldi, George Frideric Handel, Domenico Gabrielli, Tomaso Albinoni and Luigi Boccherini, as well as three world premiere recordings: Nicola Antonio Porpora’s ‘Giusto Amor, tu che m’accendi’ from the serenata Gli orti esperidi, and two compositions by Antonio Caldara – ‘Fortuna e speranza’ from his opera Nitocri and ‘Tanto, e con sì gran piena’ from Gianguir.

While it maybe an album of duels, the true winner is surely the listener – who can bask in the joyous music from two wondrous women. ‘Dolce Duello’ is full of sweet treats for every taste.
Subscriber Price: $27.89


Format: Vinyl LP
Release Date: 24 November 2017
Number of Discs: 1
Label: Decca

1 Caldara: “Fortuna e speranza” (Nitocri)
2 Albinoni: “Aure, andate e baciate” (ll Nascimento dell’Aurora)
3 Gabrielli: “Aure voi, de’ miei sospiri” (San Sigismondo, re di Borgogna)
4 Vivaldi: “Di verde ulivo” (Tito Manlio)
5 Handel: Ode for St Cecilia’s Day: “What passion cannot Music raise and quell?”
6 Caldara: “Tanto, e con sì gran piena” (Gianguir)
7 Handel: “Son qual stanco pellegrino” (Arianna in Creta)
8 Porpora: “Giusto Amor, tu che m ’accendi” (Gli orti esperidi)
9 Boccherini: Cello Concerto No. 10 in D major, G 483