Shop the 2024 Maestro of the Movies collection!
$6.95 flat rate shipping on all orders!

Prokofiev: Romeo and Juliet (CD)

Sergey Prokofiev’s Romeo and Juliet was completed after the composer’s final repatriation to Soviet Russia after a period abroad. It was written for the Kirov Ballet but early productions faltered, and Prokofiev soon adapted his music to the concert hall. The Suites avoid narrative sequence, selecting crucial moments such as the famous “balcony scene”, and dramatic climaxes such as The Death of Tybalt. Composed to celebrate the famous author’s 150th anniversary, the Pushkin Waltzes are relaxed, easygoing, and with a typically witty edge.
$14.98 Subscriber Price: $13.48
Format: Audio CD
Release Date: 7/31/2012
Number of Discs: 1
Label: Naxos Records

Track Listing
1 I. Folk Dance
2 II. A Scene
3 III. Madrigal
4 IV. Minuet
5 V. Masks
6 VI. Romeo and Juliet
7 VII. The Death of Tybalt
8 I. Montagues and Capulets
9 II. The Young Girl Juliet
10 III. Friar Lawrence
11 IV. Danse
12 V. Romeo with Juliet before Parting
13 VI. Dance of the Antillian Girls
14 VII. Romeo at the Tomb of Juliet
15 Pushkin Waltzes, Op. 120: No. 2. Waltz in C-Sharp
Write Your Own Review
Only registered users can write reviews. Please Sign in or create an account
We found other products you might like!