Shop the 2024 Maestro of the Movies collection!
$6.95 flat rate shipping on all orders!

Still: Symphonies Nos. 2 & 3 (CD)

The life and career of the African-American composer William Grant Still qualifies as the quintessential American 'success story.' Often referred to as the 'dean of African-American composers,' Still rose from humble beginnings to work as an arranger while studying composition with Chadwick and Varèse. Still embraced the blues, spirituals, jazz, and other ethnic American musics within classical forms. Wood Notes musically depicts Still's love of nature. Symphony No. 2, the last of a trilogy of works depicting the African-American experience, presents the vision of an integrated American society, while Symphony No. 3 describes a spiritual 'day in the life' of a devout worshipper. This disc completes the Naxos cycle of William Grant Still's Symphonies.
$15.98 Subscriber Price: $14.38
Format: Audio CD
Release Date: December 13, 2011
Number of Discs: 1
Label: Naxos American Classics

Track Listing
1 I. Singing River: Moderately slow
2 II. Autumn Night: Lightly
3 III. Moon Dusk: Slowly and expressively
4 IV. Whippoorwill's Shoes: Humorously
5 I. Slowly
6 II. Slowly and deeply expressive
7 III. Moderately fast
8 IV. Moderately slow
9 I. The Awakening: Moderately fast
10 II. Prayer: Very Slowly
11 III. Relaxation: Gaily
12 IV. Day's End and a New Beginning: Resolutely
Write Your Own Review
Only registered users can write reviews. Please Sign in or create an account