You have no items in your shopping cart.


Product was successfully added to your shopping cart.
  • Beethoven's Wig - Volume 1 (Kids CD) Beethoven's Wig - Volume 1 (Kids CD)

Beethoven's Wig - Volume 1 (Kids CD)

Item #: 011299

Quick Overview

Inspired and wildly imaginative, Beethoven's Wig is one of the best introductions to classical music you could give to your children.

Featuring snippets of 11 classical music staples-- Beethoven, Bach, Mozart, Haydn, et al.--the disc and its creators, Richard Perlmutter and friends, pour on the silly lyrics the first time around to familiarize young ears to the old masters. Then in the last half of the record, the orchestra plays the same "serious" music pieces instrumentally. You might cheerfully recall Alan Sherman's popular spoofs of old classical works in Wig and you'll again chuckle at pieces like "Drip, Drip, Drip," which adapts Delibes's "Pizzicato from Sylvia."

You'll also marvel at the expertise throughout the CD, with all the pieces well played yet thoroughly fun. Beethoven's Wig is an orchestral treasure with a sense of humor as old or as new as its listeners (and the fun questions that run throughout the CD's liner notes are almost as entertaining as the zany musical interludes).
Subscriber Price: $4.11


Format: CD
Label: Rounder Records
Release Date: 2011

Track Listing:
1. Symphony No. 5 in C minor ("Fate"), Op. 67 1st movement (excerpt)
2. Hungarian Rhapsody, for piano No. 2 (the "original" No. 2) in C sharp minor (I & II), S. 244/2
3. Serenade No. 13 for strings in G major ("Eine kleine Nachtmusik"), K. 525 1st movement (excerpt)
4. Orphée aux enfers, operetta in 2 acts Can Can
5. Bagatelle for piano in A minor ("Für Elise")
6. Symphony No. 94 in G major ("Surprise"/"The Drumstroke"/"Mit dem Paukenschlag"), H. 1/94 2nd movement (excerpt)
7. Work(s) Trumpet Tune
8. Sylvia, ou La nymphe de Diane, ballet Pizzicato
9. Album für die Jugend No. 10 ("Fröhlicher Landmann, von der Arbeit Zurückkehrend") for piano, Op. 68/10
10. Suite for lute in E minor, BWV 996 (BC L166) Bourée
11. 1812 -- Festival Overture, for orchestra in E flat major, Op. 49 excerpt